Smooth Radio from The 4 Land's Region For Jazz Connoisseurs

top banner
showcase banner

Showcase Artist - Kenny G - Los Angeles, CA

Kenny G is a Saxophonist, Flautist and Composer originally from Seattle, Washington who has been enjoying chart success since his debut album in 1982.

His early career started as a sideman for Barry White's Love Unlimited Orchestra whilst still at high school studying accounting and he continued his career path with Cold, Bold and Together before joining the Jeff Lorber Fusion where he started to gain recognition as a rising star.

Kenny signed with Arista Records as a solo artist in 1982 after label president Clive Davis heard his cover of 'Dancing Queen' by ABBA. He adopted Kenny G as his stage name because it "had a nice ring to it". 

His debut studio album Kenny G was recorded in 1981 with members of the Jeff Lorber Fusion and released during the following year. The album received warm reviews from critics and reached the No.10 spot on the Billboard Jazz Albums Chart.

He followed his debut album with G Force in January 1983 and Gravity in May 1985, both of which reached  Platinum Certification in the USA for selling one million copies. During this time he collaborated with musician, singer, songwriter and producer Kashif on many tracks including the 1985 hit single 'Love on the Rise'.

In 1986 he entered the most commercially successful period of his career to date with his fourth solo album Duotones which was released in September 1986 and featured the original instrumental track 'Songbird', inspired by his decision to move from Seattle to Los Angeles, which marked the start of a new life for him.

The album went on to sell five million copies in the USA alone and subsequently increased his profile worldwide. The track reached No.4 on the Billboard Hot 100 and the single 'Don't Make Me Wait for Love' featuring Lenny Williams on vocals went to No.15 on the Hot 100 and No.2 on the Billboard Adult Contemporary Chart in 1987.

Please continue in the next column top of page
Top Of Page Return to The Home Menu
top banner
showcase banner
Showcase Artist - Kenny G - Los Angeles, CA

in the mid-to-late 1980s Kenny worked with Jazz and R&B icons such as George BensonPatti LaBelle and Aretha Franklin. The 1987 hit-single 'Love Power', a Dionne Warwick duet with Jeffrey Osborne featuring Kenny as a guest saxophonist, peaked at No.12 on the Billboard Hot 100 and No.5 on R&B / Hip-Hop Charts.

His first live album entitled 'Kenny G Live' included popular songs, among which was 'Going Home' achieved great success, particularly in China.

Kenny G has collaborated with a wide variety of artists such as Andrea Bocelli, Aaron Neville, Toni Braxton, Natalie Cole, Steve Miller, Dudley Moore, Lee Ritenour, The Rippingtons, Michael Bolton, Celine Dion, Frank Sinatra, Astrud Gilberto, Bebel Gilberto and Smokey Robinson amongst many others in a star studded career.

December 2021 sees Kenny G release his latest album 'New Standards' on Concord Records, a new 11 song collection which coincides with his forthcoming US Tour entitled 'The Miracles Holiday & Hits Tour 2021' which opens in Nashville, TN on November 12th.

A track from Kenny's latest album entitled 'New Standards ' (release date 12/21) is featured on our JazzNet247 Auditorium Show 004.

Listen to Sound Samples from Kenny G
* The Girl from Ipanema ( Classics 1999 )
* One More Time ( Paradise 2002 )
* Legacy ( New Standards 2021 )

Previous Showcase Artist - Jimmy Lopez

* Also see :- Kenny G's Website
* Also see :- Kenny G's Blog Page
* Also see :- Our Featured Artist
* Also see :- The 4 Land's Region
* Also see :- Music Reviews
* Also see :- The History Of Jazz
* Also see :- The Bossa Nova Story
* Also see :- Music Recommendations
* Also see :- About Us
* Also see :- Contact Us

Top Of Page Return to The Home Menu
Play Our SmoothBox Radio Channel